“The mission of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund is to administer the Compensating Victims of Crime Act in a compassionate, fair and efficient manner. In so doing, the Fund strives to treat every victim and survivor with dignity and respect, recognizing the tremendous impact that violent crime has upon our society.”
History of CICF
On July 1, 1977, the Virginia Compensating Victims of Crime Act was enacted to compensate victims who suffer injuries as a result of a crime (§ 19.2-368.1 et seq., Code of Virginia) (hereafter “the Act”). Benefits are limited to a total of $25,000 and are payable for medical expenses, wage loss, moving expenses, crime scene clean-up, counseling costs, and other expenses incurred by or on behalf of a victim. In homicide cases, funeral or burial expenses are payable up to $5,000; eligible relatives may receive survivors’ counseling; and dependent survivors may receive compensation for loss of support from the victim. As of July of 2008, the Fund also administers the Sexual Assault Forensic Exam (SAFE) payment program for the Commonwealth. Funds are transferred from the Supreme Court for this purpose and the policies governing SAFE payments are approved by the Commission per §19.2-368.3(1)(i) in a separate manual.
The program is administered by the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission through the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund. The program is funded through fines levied against individuals convicted of felonies and misdemeanors in the Courts of the Commonwealth [See § 19.2-368.18(B) of the Act] and through federal grants under the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA). [See Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 104-235, codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 10601-10605, 18 U.S.C. § 3050.]
The Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund issues this Policy and Procedures Manual under the authority, direction, and guidance of the Workers’ Compensation Commission §19.2-368.3. When administering the Fund and making claims determinations, this policy manual, the SAFE payment policy manual, the Virginia Compensating Victims of Crime Act (§ 19.2-368.1 et seq., Code of Virginia), and the grant rules of the Victims’ of Crime Act [Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 104-235, codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 10601-10605, 18 U.S.C. § 3050.], must all be considered.